Trying Magnesium

About 2 years back, I stumbled upon magnesium’s big role in regulating calcium ion inflow to neuron cells, channelopathy in migraineurs and of course its spiral effect on the all important serotonin and eventually prostaglandin and a whole gamut of things that go on for a migraineur. By the way, migraineurs are generally defecient in magnesium. Run a blood test and find out if you are in this bracket.

In desperation, I calculated the approximate amount of magnesium I was getting from my diet and it was apallingly low! (Incidentally, magnesium absorption is also inhibited by the caffeine and alcohol intake). I started out on magnesium-calcium supplements for a month that gave me RDA values on both (esp magnesium at 400 mg a day). OK, now get this. I had an episode of migraine the following month but it was so much milder than usual. It arrived one day before I was to head out to London. My work didnt have to stop on the day I was travelling out to London. This was a big deal for me, as will be, I am sure, for many, many migraineurs. I would not have been able to do this without the supplements. Ever since, I have made magnesium a part of diet. I do go off it now and then by choice but I usually do take them and benefit from it immensely.

Copyrights apply on this blog. Refer copyright permissions.

Feel free to leave your feedback on this blog.

Best Regards

6 thoughts on “Trying Magnesium

  1. Pingback: Homepage

  2. “Magnesium and migraine” was my dissertation topic when I studied to become a nutritionist.

    Our college encouraged us to use hair mineral analysis (HMA) tests to get round the problems of blood tests for mineral deficiencies.

    It’s also important to remember that not only should minerals such as magnesium be available, they must also be in balance with others such as calcium.

    The HMA test will show whether your calcium and magnesium levels are in balance. (You can see a sample report on my blog post below.)

    http://stopthemigrainemadness.com/blog/2008/11/migraine-and-hair-mineral-analysis/

    Like

  3. Hi Ellen,

    Thank you very much for leaving your doctor’s opinions and thanks a ton for sharing this information. I value it very much.

    Yes, I agree magnesium is under-valued as a mineral. The more I read about it while I was researching scientific material for my book on migraines, the more I got drawn to it’s multiple functions and benefits. Some pointers came from it’s metabolic action for calcium, potassium, fat(!!), vit C and for conversion of blood sucrose to energy (so how important is it for athletes and gym goers?). It is anti-stress and a mood elevator. It also helps reduce to some extent BP and stroke incidences. I think it is a basic muscle relaxant and also helps in bringing constricted blood vessels back to their relaxed state – especially smooth blood vessels around the involuntary muscle and tissues (like those of the heart etc).

    I thank you again for your time and effort with my blog. Will click on your site in a moment and have a look.

    Best Regards
    Mamta

    Like

  4. Hang in there. I think Magnesium is highly under-used… unfortunately. My Neurologist points out that a blood test will not tell you if your cells are deficient however, only plasma. According to him, this is a very different thing so he doesn’t bother testing for blood magnesium levels. Still, if your blood magnesium is low, this is surely good info to have and remember. Soon, magnesium will be on everyone’s lips as much as Calcium. It is just as important for many functions.

    I look forward to reading more of your blog in the future. 🙂 Come visit me at http://www.wegohealth.com sometime!

    Ellen
    WEGO Health Migraine blogger

    Like

Leave a Reply

